At the Gate: El Al

I’m not prepared

My bag isn’t packed.

I only have 11 dollars, all singles

I’m not sure why I’m going, anyway

I’ll see if I can get out of it

Trade in my ticket

Get a refund

 

But you say: 

Don’t back out now!

You’re at the airport already, aren’t you?

There will be plenty to see.

Just go!


Reminds me of the time

The acupuncturist put a needle in the space between my eyebrows

I was there to cure my knees

So why was she putting a needle in my forehead?

For enlightenment, she told me.

Why would I want that? I asked.

I just wanted my knees to stop hurting.

 

Okay, so maybe I need to start thinking bigger.

Maybe they’ll have an ATM over there in Jerusalem or wherever we land.

I grab socks and a pair of old sandals from a pile of my daughter’s things

And some t-shirts, too.


I kiss you awake to tell you

I’ve figured it out

I’m going

Going to the Promised Land

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “At the Gate: El Al

  1. I like the way this sways between feeling like a dream and ‘real’ life.
    And your thoughts in between re-inforce that, they seem to be your waking thoughts, or are they your thoughts as the dreamer?
    Or, is that the point, the waker and the dreamer are the same…:)

Leave a Reply

