101 Wonderful Things

Every year at around this time, I make a list of 101 Wonderful Things about the year that just passed.

I don’t remember when I started this tradition, but it’s been going on for at least 15 years. I start a day or two before the new year begins, and I make the list inside my journal du jour.

IMG_2197

My journals for 2012. Two of them are handmade by me! One was made by a good friend.

It’s easy to think of 101 Wonderful things … especially because I keep a journal all year round, and I often end the day by making a list of 10 Wonderful Things about the day that just ended.

My list includes all kinds of things: Foods I tasted, people I met, songs I loved, books I read, dreams I had, places I visited, etc.

This year, one of the items on my list of Wonderful Things was learning to make simple hand-bound books.

IMG_1818

I learned some simple bookbinding techniques this past summer along with my students at the GED program where I teach.

Which led to what might become a new twist on my now old tradition: I made a pamphlet-stitched booklet in which to write my list.

IMG_2194

And while I was making my book look pretty I decided to add another element: Photographs.

IMG_2196

The only problem I had was this: I ran out of pages before I ran out of wonderful things to list about the year 2012.

ZZZzzzzzz

Happy New Year To All

May 2013 be filled with countless wonders!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “101 Wonderful Things

  1. Wonderful tradition.
    Happy New Year!!

  2. Pingback: Paying Homage to the Old Year While the New Year is Still New | All the Snooze That's Fit to Print

Leave a Reply

